News & Announcements


WOGCC Proposes Rule to Address Volume of Drilling Permits

posted Jul 9, 2019, 8:19 AM by Kimberly Mazza   [ updated Jul 9, 2019, 8:19 AM ]

In accordance with Wyoming’s rule-making guidelines, the Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (WOGCC) released a proposed rule at its July 9, 2019 hearings initiating the rule-making process to deal with the increased volume of drilling permits.

Written public comments will be collected and reviewed during a 45-day comment period that will be announced at a later date along with how to properly submit comments. 

It is recommended to reference the WOGCC website homepage periodically for updates regarding the rule as well as subscribing for email notifications by clicking on the GovDelivery icon to the left of this notice.

To review the proposed rule in its entirety click here.   

Criteria for Filing A Protest

posted Jun 20, 2019, 4:27 PM by Kimberly Mazza   [ updated Aug 7, 2019, 10:17 AM ]

There are three (3) factors to consider in filing a protest to an application that has been filed at the Oil & Gas Conservation Commission:

1. In order to have a right to protest under WOGCC Rules and Regulations, a protestant must prove two things:

 -  First, the protestant must show that he or she is entitled to notice or relief under the Wyoming Conservation Act (WYO. STAT. ANN. §§ 30-5-101 through 30-5- 128). "Are you a mineral interest owner anywhere within a ½ mile of the area where the drilling of a well is requested?"

 -  Second, the protestant must show that he or she is seeking a remedy that is within the jurisdiction and authority of the Commission, such as drilling a well that could violate your correlative rights or drilling a well that could cause waste.

2.  A valid protest must be accompanied by a filing fee of $250 to initiate commencement of a hearing [Chapter 5, Section 2 of the WOGCC Rules & Regulation

3.  You must appear at the hearing to provide testimony and/or evidence to support your claim. The commission will not consider a complaint or request for relief without testimony from the protestant.

To print the Criteria for Filing A Protest, please click here.

2nd Protest Policy for Applications for Permit to Drill (APD)

posted May 15, 2019, 7:39 AM by Kimberly Mazza   [ updated May 15, 2019, 1:25 PM ]

The WOGCC continues to experience an increasing number of protested APD's. The majority of these applications are continued month to month because of the large volume of cases before the Commission.  In order to manage this efficiently and reduce costs for applicants, a new policy was implemented with the May 2019 hearings.  Please find the new policy under the Policy Memos under the News and Notices tab on the agency's website or by opening this page and clicking here.     

Prehearing Disclosure

posted May 9, 2019, 3:29 PM by Kimberly Mazza   [ updated May 9, 2019, 3:29 PM ]

Attention Attorneys: A Prehearing Disclosure template is now available on the website. Over the past several months numerous attorneys have requested an opportunity to further clarify the issues to the Commission prior to hearing. Additionally, many attorneys have requested opposing parties further clarify the grounds for their protests and objections. Attorneys should file prehearing disclosure statements with the Commission on the first Tuesday of the month (7 days prior to hearing). This deadline allows staff enough time to process and file disclosures and provides appropriate time for the Commission to review them. As the Commission docket continues to expand, it is has been helpful for the Commission to begin a hearing with as much information as possible. You can find the Prehearing Disclosure by clicking here or by going to the Hearings Tab on the agency's homepage.

Policy Memo Regarding Preliminary Matters

posted Feb 19, 2019, 12:31 PM by Kimberly Mazza   [ updated Mar 8, 2019, 3:22 PM ]

In an attempt to streamline the hearing process, the WOGCC requests that all attorneys provide a written document regarding preliminary matters (10 copies) thirty minutes prior to the start of the monthly hearings.  The document will identify the applicant, protested party (if applicable), docket number and request to the Commission (i.e. continue, withdrawal, etc.) for each matter.

This policy, which will be effective starting with the March 2019 WOGCC hearings, will hopefully reduce the time for preliminary matters and provide for a more efficient use of the Commissioner’s time.

To access a copy of the policy, go to Policy Memos under the News and Notices tab on the homepage of the agency's website.

 

New Policy Notice

posted Feb 11, 2019, 9:31 AM by Kimberly Mazza   [ updated Feb 11, 2019, 9:34 AM ]

WELL LOCATION MOVE REQUIRES POST APD APPROVAL.  WOGCC Engineering staff has previously required, as a courtesy to affected parties and to satisfy Chapter 3 Section 8 (f) regarding horizontal well applications (HWA) and notifications, that any intended lateral moves specific to the completed portion of the well (FTP through BHL) greater than >100’ required a new horizontal well application, $75 check, notice to the affected parties, and sundry notice of intent of footage changes with supporting documentation. This is specific to changes made after the Application to Drill (APD) has been approved. To review the changes with these requirements, please find the memo by going to Policy Memos under the News and Notices tab on the WOGCC website.

You can also see the memo by clicking here.

WOGCC Order and OAH's Recommended Order Now Available

posted Jan 24, 2019, 1:22 PM by Kimberly Mazza   [ updated Jan 24, 2019, 1:27 PM ]

The Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (WOGCC) signed order and the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) recommended order regarding Anadarko E&P, Onshore LLC and the protesting landowners are now available on the WOGCC's website.  For those interested in reviewing the orders, they are located under the Hearings tab on the WOGCC website's homepage.  

SURVEY PLATS MEMO

posted Dec 20, 2018, 9:38 AM by Kimberly Mazza   [ updated Dec 20, 2018, 9:43 AM ]

ATTENTION OPERATORS  Please note the WOGCC Supervisor has issued a Survey Plat Memo reminding that all applications to drill (APD) submitted to the Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission must include a signed survey plat that complies with the requirements of Chapter 3, Section 8(i).  Those surveys that have been submitted but do not meet the intent of the rule could be denied.  Operators have until February 29, 2019, to submit a corrected survey plat.  After this date, any APD with a non-compliant survey plat may be denied. To see the memo in its entirety and to ensure survey plats are compliant to the WOGCC requirements, please go to Policy Memos under the News and Notices Tab at the top of the homepage or click here.

NEW POLICY NOTICE

posted Dec 7, 2018, 1:13 PM by Kimberly Mazza   [ updated Dec 7, 2018, 1:36 PM ]

HEARING APPLICATION AMENDMENTS & EXHIBITS POLICY   In an attempt to manage the administrative workload caused by the high volume of hearing applications and an increasing number of application amendments, a new hearing policy regarding amending applications will become effective December 11, 2018.  Any hearing application submitted to the Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission that is subsequently amended will be continued and assessed a continuance fee.  This policy will also apply to amendments made to any land, geologic, or engineering exhibits during an examiner hearing.  The amended application will be continued in accordance with the hearing schedule deadlines based on the date the amendment is filed.  This will provide commission staff adequate time to renotice applications and prepare the docket for hearing.  The applicant will also be required to renotice the application and provide a new affidavit of mailing.  

To view the policy in its entirety, please go to Policy Memos under the News and Notices tab on the WOGCC website or click here.

 

Attention Operators: Wyoming eForm To Start July 5, 2018

posted Jun 26, 2018, 2:20 PM by Kimberly Mazza   [ updated Jun 26, 2018, 2:36 PM ]

The Wyoming eForm application will be ready to use, July 5, 2018. 

Operators are strongly encouraged to use this new web application to electronically file Applications for Permit to Drill (APDs), spud and BOP notices, and baseline water quality plans and sample reports.  Operators quickly adopting eForm to file APDs will speed up the APD review time.

To get started, please send the Industry Member's name and contact information that will approve Wyoming eForm users for your company.  You may send their name and contact information to Tom.Kropatsch@wyo.gov or Robert.Meyer@wyo.gov.  As discussed during training sessions, users who previously had logins through WOGCC's legacy Electronic Reporting functionality should use their same information to log in to Wyoming eForm.  

Starting July 5, approved users will be able to access the eForm by going to the RBDMS tab on the WOGCC website and click on Wyoming eForm.  

If you have difficulty logging in to Wyoming eForm please contact Tom.Kropatsch@wyo.gov or Robert.Meyer@wyo.gov.

If you were unable to attend any of the training sessions, please refer to the RBDMS tab on the WOGCC website and click on RBDMS Training tools.  A recorded training session is available and thoroughly covers each step.  Also available are short videos to address some of the common questions.

For questions or concerns, please contact Tom.Kropatsch@wyo.gov or Robert.Meyer@wyo.gov

1-10 of 18